April 30 – May 3: Educational Program | May 1 - 3: Exhibits

Theodore John Wierzbanowski

Chairman, F38 UAS Standards Committee


Ted Wierzbanowski is a retired USAF Colonel and an experimental test pilot. He has been deeply involved in advanced aircraft development since the early 80s when he was the first Air Force test pilot for the X-29 program. During that time he also was the fighter branch chief at the Air Force Flight Test Center and helped create and then manage a new organization responsible for all one-of-a-kind and research Air Force Flight Test Center aircraft programs. After leaving the X-29 program Ted moved on to the X-30/NASP program where he served in many senior level positions over a period of seven years including an assignment at Palmdale Plant 42 where he served as the X-30 /NASP Detachment Commander.

Ted retired from the Air Force in 1994 and went to work at AeroVironment (AV) where, prior to his retirement from AV in early 2013, he managed many advanced technology electric vehicle, distributed energy, and unmanned aircraft systems (UAS) programs. He also was AV’s Director of UAS Airspace Integration responsible for AV’s interaction with the FAA and other government agencies on UAS issues.

In the past he was the President of UNITE (UAV National Industry Team), the Industry Co-Chair of the FAA’s Small UAS Aviation Rulemaking Committee (ARC), a member of RTCA SC-203 and EUROCAE UAS Working Groups 73 and 93, the ASTM representative on the Micro UAS ARC, the Industry Co-Chair of the FAA UAS ARC, and the Chairman of the ASTM F-38 UAS Standards Committee. For all of these efforts in supporting UAS airspace integration efforts he received the AUVSI Outstanding Contributor Award in 2012 and the UVS International Catherine Fargeon Award in 2016.

Ted graduated from the Air Force Academy in 1968 and also has a M.S. in Systems Management from USC. He is a graduate of the USAF Test Pilot School and the Defense Systems Management College as well as a member of Society of Experimental Test Pilots and a senior member of AIAA.


Back to the Search